Hardcover ´ Hummingbirds MOBI ´

Those of us who love Muriel Spark's The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie will now have to make room next to it on our shelves for Joshua Gaylord's winning debut —Brock Clarke author of An Arsonist's Guide to Writers' Homes in New EnglandHummingbirds positively glistens with erudition and insight Whether writing about prep school girls or the adult men who walk among them Gaylord's stunning writing elevates his subject matter with equal parts humanity and elegance —Jonathan Tropper author of This Is Where I Leave YouIn the tradition of Francine Prose's Blue Angel Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep and Alan Bennett's The History Boys Joshua Gaylord's Hummingbirds reveals the intertwining—and darkly surprising—relationships between secretive students and teachers at an all girls prep school in New York City


10 thoughts on “Hummingbirds

  1. says:

    I just learned that Joshua Gaylord and Alden Bell are one and the same This is way different from zombies but I have to check it outOkay so now I've read it It's possible I would have given this book 4 stars if I weren't reading it on the heels of Exit Kingdom by Alden Bell I could find no commonalities in writing style between the two Gaylord said as much in a review He took on the name Alden Bell when he wrote The Reapers because he knew he was writing for a different audience Fans of Joshua Gaylord may not be fans of Alden Bell The author is a teacher at a private girls high school on the Upper East Side The story takes place in a fictional private girls high school I really don't know how male teachers manage the girls who are practicing their flirting and trying to exert power over the males in their life When I was in high school an all girls high school I had a math teacher who was fresh out of college He asked us to call him Mr Saff because he had a long unpronounceable name He was young and cool and probably a little flirty At least half the girls I knew had a crush on him including me and looked for reasons to talk to him after class Anyway he was not invited back at the end of the school year I don't know if anything happened or if the administration was afraid something might happenThis story involves teachers and students trying to maneuver their way through a difficult place Two teachers Leo binhammer has always been the only young hip teacher and the girls are all half in love with him Along comes new teacher Ted Hughes Leo can feel the girls transferring their crushed to Hughes do he ups his own flirtatious behavior No good can come of this To complicate things further Leo's wife had a short lived fling with Hughes while away at a conference two years ago Leo wants to hate acted but he also finds himself failing under Ted's spellObviously Gaylord knows teenage girls and has created some very real characters here